Which player scored the most impressive goal over the weekend?
Josh Sargent (Werder Bremen)
Haji Wright (SonderjyskE)
Giovanni Reyna (Borussia Dortmund)
Tyler Boyd (Besiktas)
Julian Green (Greuther Furth)
Nicholas Gioacchini (Caen)
KENYA BROWN - Monday, January 12, 2015
United States national team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann has called in 28 players for the team's first training camp of 2015 in Carson, California.

The roster is comprised of a mix of newcomers and veterans who play with teams in Major League Soccer with the exception of Bobby Wood and Marc Pelosi who play for 1860 Munich and Liverpool respectively.

Midfielder Dennis Flores has been called up from Liga MX side Leon, while the surprise call up from the group is forward Julio Morales who plays for Tepic on loan from CD Guadalajara. The 21-year-old has already made a few appearances for the Mexico's U-20 national team and would need to file a one-time switch with FIFA should he impress and want to play for the United States in official competitions.

According to Klinsmann, the camp will have two objectives as it prepares veteran players for this summer's CONCACAF Gold Cup, while helping the younger players who will attempt to qualify the U.S. for the Summer Olympics next year.

"The prize in 2015 for the senior National Team is the Gold Cup, and this camp will give a lot of our players a chance to kick start their preparations for an important year," Klinsmann said on the US Soccer website. "We also get an opportunity to introduce the next wave of young players into the program, and in particular work with many of our Olympic-age guys as they build toward qualifying for the 2016 Olympics in Rio."

The team will train for 12 days in Carson starting on Jan. 12 before heading to South America to take on Chile in a friendly on Jan. 28. They will return stateside to face Panama on Feb. 8 at the StubHub Center.

GOALKEEPERS (4): Alex Bono (unattached), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Jon Kempin (Sporting Kansas City), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (7): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Christian Dean (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Shane O'Neill (Colorado Rapids), Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy)

MIDFIELDERS (11): Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (unattached), Dennis Flores (Club Leon), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Miguel Ibarra (Minnesota United FC), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Marc Pelosi (Liverpool), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

FORWARDS (6): Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Julio Morales (Tepic), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (1860 Munich), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

Email (will not appear on the site)


Join the YA Email Alert?

Comments are moderated and will be posted if they are on-topic and free of profanity, abuse and spam. HTML and links are not allowed.


Jesse Marsch has claimed a personal accolade as he's been named Coach of the Year in Austria.
American Trio Wins 3. Liga Title
Konrad Commits To Barcelona
Matarazzo, Stuttgart Eye Promotion
EPB Returns To Action In Austria