KENYA BROWN - Wednesday, March 15, 2017
US national team coach Bruce Arena announced a 24-man roster for the upcoming CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers against Honduras and Panama, with Clint Dempsey making his return.

The team will be looking to kick start their campaign to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia after they suffered losses to Mexico and Costa Rica in their first two games last year.

Dempsey, the Seattle Sounders forward, will be making his return to the team for the first time since he was forced to sit out the remainder of the 2016 MLS season due to an irregular heartbeat. However, he has comeback strong as he played in the full 90 minutes for the Sounders in their first to MLS games this season.

Joining Dempsey in the forward line will be Jozy Altidore, Jordan Morris and Bobby Wood. Wood has been playing well as of late for Hamburg as he has scored four goals in the team's past 10 games.

In the midfield, Arena has selected the usual players such as captain Michael Bradley, Jermaine Jones, Alejandro Bedoya, Fabian Johnson and Christian Pulisic. Dax McCarty, Sebastian Lletget, Darlington Nagbe and Kellyn Acosta will be entering the team to hopefully see their first action in the World Cup qualifiers.

Geoff Cameron will be making his return to the team after recovering from a lengthy injury. He has recently returned to the lineup for Stoke City, so it should come as good news for the US if he can return to man the center of their defense.

John Brooks, DaMarcus Beasley, Omar Gonzalez, Michael Orozco, Tim Ream, Jorge Villafaña and Walker Zimmerman will be joining Cameron among the picks in the US defense.

Another player returning in time for the qualifiers is goalkeeper Tim Howard. The Colorado Rapids netminder miss several months following an abductor tear he suffered in the United States' 2-1 loss to Mexico in November last year.

Brad Guzan and Nick Rimando have also been called in to the team.

The US will first take Honduras in San Jose, California, on March 24 followed by a trip down to Panama four days later

The Roster


Brad Guzan (Middlesbrough), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)


John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), Tim Ream (Fulham), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna), Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas)


Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Jermaine Jones (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund)


Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Bobby Wood (Hamburg)

Email (will not appear on the site)


Join the YA Email Alert?

Comments are moderated and will be posted if they are on-topic and free of profanity, abuse and spam. HTML and links are not allowed.


Jesse Marsch has claimed a personal accolade as he's been named Coach of the Year in Austria.
American Trio Wins 3. Liga Title
Konrad Commits To Barcelona
Matarazzo, Stuttgart Eye Promotion
EPB Returns To Action In Austria