KENYA BROWN - Monday, May 29, 2017
United States national team head coach Bruce Arena has selected 27 players ahead of their June World Cup qualifiers against Trinidad and Tobago and Mexico.

The team will be looking to move further up the CONCACAF Hexagonal standings as they try to nail down a spot for next year's World Cup in Russia.

The group is an experienced bunch, with several players making their return after missing out on the March qualifiers due to injuries - namely Fabian Johnson, Cameron, Bobby Wood and John Brooks. One omission from the team this time is midfielder Jermaine Jones who misses out due to a knee injury.

Another player returning to the team is goalkeeper Ethan Horvath. The 21-year-old earned his spot on the roster as he took over as starting goalkeeper for Belgian team Club Brugge in the latter half of the season and played quite well as they booked a spot in the qualifying stage of the Champions League.

According to Arena, he is pleased with the group of players he has called in and hopes they will be ready when the games come around.

"I think we have a good group," Arena said in a statement on the US Soccer website. "I'm still in the early goings with this team and I haven't seen all of our players, so this camp gives me the opportunity to see six new faces we haven't had in with the team yet, which is valuable. It's also great that we're able to bring back 21 players that have been in with our program already in 2017. We have a roster that has good balance all over, we have good young players and hopefully, it's a team we can put together to get us points in both games."

Prior to the World Cup qualifiers, the US will play a tune-up game against Venezuela on June 3 at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah. Their game against Trinidad and Tobago will take place on June 8 at Dick's Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colorado, and they will then head down to Mexico City to face their cross-border rivals at the Estadio Azteca three days later.

The Roster


Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Ethan Horvath (Club Brugge), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)


DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Tim Ream (Fulham), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna), DeAndre Yedlin (Newcastle United), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)


Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund)


Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Bobby Wood (Hamburg)

Email (will not appear on the site)


Join the YA Email Alert?

Comments are moderated and will be posted if they are on-topic and free of profanity, abuse and spam. HTML and links are not allowed.


Jesse Marsch has claimed a personal accolade as he's been named Coach of the Year in Austria.
American Trio Wins 3. Liga Title
Konrad Commits To Barcelona
Matarazzo, Stuttgart Eye Promotion
EPB Returns To Action In Austria