DAVID SMITH - Wednesday, February 24, 2021
The CONCACAF Olympic qualifiers are around the corner and the U.S. Under-23 Men's National Team has started the process of forming a roster by releasing 48 players on the list.

This could possibly be the best U-23 team put together as the team looks to qualify for the Tokyo Games. It would be their first time back at the 16-day event since their last appearance in 2008 in Beijing, China.

Among the names on the roster are overseas-based players such as Bryan Reynolds, Brenden Aaronson, Johnny Cardoso, and Sebastian Soto. U.S. Soccer will have to work aggressively to get to their respective teams to release for the qualifiers set to be staged in Mexico next month.

The roster is also comprised of tried and tested players in MLS such as Miles Robinson, Gianluca Busio, Brooks Lennon, Keaton Parks, and Jeremy Ebobisse.

One of the biggest question marks among the players on the roster is LA Galaxy youngster Efrain Alvarez. The 18-year-old, who was invited to join the team in November 2020 but could not play in their friendly against El Salvador, has been named to both the U.S. and Mexico preliminary rosters. It will very interesting to see which country he chooses to represent as both countries will play against each other in the group stage.

Alvarez will not necessarily be cap-tied after deciding on which country he wants to play for at this stage, but it could go a long way to him ultimately making a long-term choice if he has the goods to play at the senior level.

The CONCACAF Olympic qualifiers get underway on March 18 in Guadalajara, Mexico, with the U.S. taking on Costa Rica in their first Group A game.


Goalkeepers: Drake Callender (Inter Miami), Matt Freese (Philadelphia Union), Jonathan Klinsmann (LA Galaxy), JT Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes), David Ochoa (Real Salt Lake), Brady Scott (Austin FC)

Defenders: Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy), George Bello (Atlanta United), Kyle Duncan (New York Red Bulls), Marco Farfan (Los Angeles FC), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake), Chris Gloster (PSV Eindhoven), Aaron Herrera (Real Salt Lake), Aboubacar Keita (Columbus Crew), Henry Kessler (New England Revolution), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire), Donovan Pines (D.C. United), Bryan Reynolds (AS Roma), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United), James Sands (New York City FC), Auston Trusty (Colorado Rapids), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids)

Midfielders: Brenden Aaronson (Red Bull Salzburg), Efrain Alvarez (LA Galaxy), Frankie Amaya (FC Cincinnati), Cole Bassett (Colorado Rapids), Gianluca Busio (Sporting Kansas City), Caden Clark (New York Red Bulls), Johnny Cardoso (SC Internacional), Hassani Dotson (Minnesota United), Brooks Lennon (Atlanta United), Djordje Mihailovic (CF Montreal), Keaton Parks (New York City FC), Andrés Perea (Orlando City), Brandon Servania (St. Polten), Tanner Tessmann (FC Dallas), Eryk Williamson (Portland Timbers), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes)

Forwards: Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes), Konrad de la Fuente (Barcelona), Jeremy Ebobisse (Portland Timbers), Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids), Ulysses Llanez (Heerenveen), Benji Michel (Orlando City), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas), Sebastian Saucedo (UNAM Pumas), Sebastian Soto (Norwich City)

Email (will not appear on the site)


Join the YA Email Alert?

Comments are moderated and will be posted if they are on-topic and free of profanity, abuse and spam. HTML and links are not allowed.