DAVID SMITH - Thursday, March 4, 2021
United States Under-23 National Team head coach Jason Kreis has announced a 31-man roster for training camp as it prepares for the CONCACAF Men's Olympic Qualifying tournament.

The roster, which was announced by US Soccer on Monday, is an MLS heavy side with only four foreign-based players included.

Some of the notable omissions from the roster are the Atlanta United trio of Miles Robinson, George Bello and Brooks Lennon. The club refused to release the players as the team prepares to play in the CONCACAF Champions League.

Another omission, though not surprising, is Efrain Alvarez. The 18-year-old LA Galaxy midfielder has been coveted by both the US and Mexico as both countries had included him on their rosters. However, Alvarez has so far not expressed commitment to either federation, leaving the door still wide open for him to play for the US side in the future.

There were many other omissions from the team, but Kreis believes that he has the personnel that can lead them to book their ticket for the rescheduled Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan.

"We're excited to finally return to Guadalajara ahead of the Olympic qualifying tournament," Kreis said in a statement. "A lot has changed since March 2020, but we've seen our player pool grow and gain invaluable experience over the last year. We're looking forward to a few weeks of preparation ahead of the tournament and we're thankful for the cooperation of the clubs in releasing their players for this very important training camp. I'm confident that the group we've assembled can achieve our ultimate goal of qualifying for the Olympics in Tokyo."

The US will kick off their Olympic qualifying campaign on March 18 when they face Mexico in Guadalajara.


GOALKEEPERS: Matt Freese (Philadelphia Union), Jonathan Klinsmann (LA Galaxy), JT Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes), David Ochoa (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS: Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy), Marco Farfan (LAFC), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake), Aaron Herrera (Real Salt Lake), Henry Kessler (New England Revolution), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire FC), Austin Trusty (Colorado Rapid), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids)

MIDFIELDERS: Frankie Amaya (FC Cincinnati), Cole Bassett (Colorado Rapids), Johnny Cardoso (Internacional), Hassani Dotson (Minnesota United FC), Andres Perea (Orlando City SC), Tanner Tessmann (FC Dallas), Eryk Williamson (Portland Timbers), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes)

FORWARDS: Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids), Ulysses Llanez (Heerenveen), Benji Michel (Orlando City SC), Djordje Mihailovic (CF Montreal), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas), Sebastian Saucedo (UNAM Pumas), Sebastian Soto (Norwich City)

Email (will not appear on the site)


Join the YA Email Alert?

Comments are moderated and will be posted if they are on-topic and free of profanity, abuse and spam. HTML and links are not allowed.