BRIAN SCIARETTA - Thursday, August 26, 2010
Unitec States Under-20 head coach Thomas Rongen announced today a 20-man roster for the US team that will compete next month in the Cuadrangular Internacional Tournament in Peru.

While many top choice players are still unable to attend due to club commitments, the roster still marks the first time this cycle in which every player is part of a professional environment and no college players will be making the trip.

It is also the team's first tournament since winning the Milk Cup last month in Northern Ireland.

The squad will be led by team captain Gale Agbossoumonde who has embraced the role of being a coach on the field.

The Togo-born central defender currently plays in the system of Portuguese power SC Braga and this year should fight for playing time with the first team.

Over the past year he has emerged as one of the top prospects in the entire US system and his exceptional play at the Milk Cup only went to further enhance his reputation.

Other notable inclusions are forwards Juan Agudelo and Adrian Ruelas who both played a significant role in the Milk Cup title.

Agudelo was named the best player in the 3-0 win over Northern Ireland in the final game and Ruelas scored three times throughout the whole tournament.

The roster includes seven players who currently play in Mexico with Tigres fullback Emilio Orozco and Pachuca midfielder Kevin Huezo both making their U20 debuts this cycle.

Also making their first appearances with the U20 team are defender Anthony Brooks and forward Jerome Kiesewetter who both play in the Hertha Berlin system.

In Peru at the Cuadrangular Internacional Tournament, the US team will take on Paraguay on September 6th followed by Colombia on September 8th. They will conclude with a game against the hosts Peru on September 10th.

The US U20 national team now enters into the second half of the cycle with the 2011 World Cup scheduled for next summer in Colombia and CONCACAF qualifying slated for early next year.


Badr, Samir (F.C. Porto)
Cropper, Cody (Ipswich Town)


Agbossoumonde, Gale (S.C. Braga)
Brooks, Anthony (Hertha BSC; Berlin)
De La Fuente, Bryan (Chivas USA)
Flores, Christian (Club Tijuana)
Garza, Greg (G.D. Estoril Praia)
Orozco, Emilio (Tigres)
Veeder, Korey (Crystal Palace Baltimore)


Garza, Victor (Tigres)
Huezo, Kevin (C.F. Pachuca)
Navas Cobo, Francisco (Houston Dynamo)
Nungaray, Ernest (Monarcas Morelia)
Orozco, Moises (Tigres)
Shanosky, Conor (D.C. United)
Zamora, Cesar (Chivas USA)


Agudelo, Juan (New York Red Bulls)
Kiesewetter, Jerome (Hertha BSC)
Ruelas, Adrian (Santos Laguna)
Salgado, Omar (Portland Timbers)

Email (will not appear on the site)


Join the YA Email Alert?

Comments are moderated and will be posted if they are on-topic and free of profanity, abuse and spam. HTML and links are not allowed.


Jesse Marsch has claimed a personal accolade as he's been named Coach of the Year in Austria.
American Trio Wins 3. Liga Title
Konrad Commits To Barcelona
Matarazzo, Stuttgart Eye Promotion
EPB Returns To Action In Austria