How will the USMNT perform in the Copa América?
3 and out, baby!
Quarterfinal heartbreak
Reach the semis, but can't take the next step
Loss in the final - it's the 2009 Confed Cup all over again!
Champions on home soil!
BRIAN SCIARETTA - Thursday, November 8, 2012
The United States national team learned their schedule for next year's Hexagonal round of World Cup qualifying.

The US team and Jamaica advanced from Group A of their semifinal round and they will be joined by Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama, and Honduras.

Under this qualifying round, the top three teams will qualify automatically for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil and the fourth place team will be entered into a two game playoff with the winner of the Oceania region. The teams who finish fifth and sixth will be eliminated

The United States will open World Cup qualifying with a difficult game on the road in Honduras. They will then return to the US in March for two games. A home game against Costa Rica and a road game against Mexico.

In June the schedule will become slightly easier for the US team with a road game against Jamaica followed by two home games against Panama and Honduras. In September the US will face off against Costa Rica on the road followed by Mexico at home.

The US will conclude World Cup qualifying in October with a home game against Jamaica followed by a road game against Panama.

The United States will be aiming to qualify for their seventh straight World Cup. Venues for the US team's home games have not been announced yet.

The US team's schedule

Feb. 6 Honduras Away
March 22 Costa Rica Home
March 26 Mexico Away
June 7 Jamaica Away
June 11 Panama Home
June 18 Honduras Home
Sept. 6 Costa Rica Away
Sept. 10 Mexico Home
Oct. 11 Jamaica Home
Oct. 15 Panama Away

Email (will not appear on the site)


Join the YA Email Alert?

Comments are moderated and will be posted if they are on-topic and free of profanity, abuse and spam. HTML and links are not allowed.


Bob Bradley and Le Havre won their French Ligue 2 game over the weekend to keep their promotion hopes alive.
Crunch time in promotion races
Malone leaving FC Magdeburg
Bradley's promotion path narrows
Trump used to fire up El Tri fans